The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine

Commission banner graphic 2

International Commission on the Clinical Use of Human Germline Genome Editing


Dame Kay E. Davies, Ph.D.
Professor of Genetics, MDUK Oxford Neuromuscular Centre
Department of Physiology, Anatomy, and Genetics
University of Oxford
Oxford, UK

Richard P. Lifton, M.D., Ph.D.
The Rockefeller University
New York, N.Y., USA


Hidenori Akutsu, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, Department of Reproductive Medicine
National Research Institute for Child Health and Development
Tokyo, Japan

Robert Califf, M.D.
Donald F. Fortin, MD, Professor of Cardiology and Professor of Medicine
Duke University; and
Advisor, Verily Life Sciences
Durham, N.C., USA

Dana Carroll, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Department of Biochemistry
University of Utah School of Medicine
Salt Lake City, USA

Susan Golombok, Ph.D
Professor of Family Research and Director of the Centre for Family Research
University of Cambridge
Cambridge, UK

Andy Greenfield, Ph.D.
Programme Leader
MRC Harwell Institute
Oxfordshire, UK

Rahman A. Jamal, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Paediatric Haematology, Oncology, and Molecular Biology
Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Jeffrey Kahn, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Andreas C. Dracopoulos Director and Robert Henry Levi and Ryda Hecht Levi Professor of Bioethics and Public Policy
Berman Institute of Bioethics
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, Md., USA

Bartha Maria Knoppers, Ph.D.
Director of the Centre of Genomics and Policy
Faculty of Medicine, Department of Human Genetics and
Canada Research Chair in Law and Medicine
McGill University
Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Eric Lander, Ph.D.
President and Founding Director
Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard;
Professor of Biology
Massachusetts Institute of Technology; and
Professor of Systems Biology
Harvard Medical School
Cambridge, USA

Jinsong Li, Ph.D.
Professor, Institute of Biochemistry and Cell Biology
Shanghai Institutes for Biological Sciences
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Shanghai, P.R. China

Michèle Ramsay, Ph.D.
Director and Research Chair
Sydney Brenner Institute for Molecular Bioscience
University of the Witwatersrand
Johannesburg, South Africa

Julie Steffann, M.D.
Hospital Practitioner, Genetics Department
Necker-Enfants Malades; and
Professor of Genetics
Paris Descartes University
Paris, France

B.K. Thelma, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Genetics
University of Delhi
New Delhi, India

Sir Douglass Turnbull, Ph.D.
Director, Wellcome Trust Centre for Mitochondrial Research, and
Professor of Neurology
Newcastle University
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

Haoyi Wang, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator, State Key Laboratory of Stem Cell and Reproductive Biology
Institute of Zoology
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Beijing, P.R. China

Anna Wedell, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Head of Clinic
Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery
Centre for Inherited Metabolic Diseases
Karolinska Institutet/Karolinska University Hospital
Stockholm, Sweden

View biographies

Commission logos