2nd National Stakeholder Meeting: Review of Priorities in the National Vaccine Plan

When: December 1, 2008 (8:30 AM Eastern)

Topics Public Health, Quality and Patient Safety
Activity: Review of Priorities in the National Vaccine Plan
Board: Board on Population Health and Public Health Practice

The workshop focused on topics related to Goal 1 of the update to the National Vaccine Plan (Research and Development), and on draft portions of the update recently released by federal agencies with coordination by NVPO. The 2008 Draft Strategic National Vaccine Plan is now available on the Department of Health and Human Services National Vaccine Program Office website (click here to view--by clicking this link you are leaving the IOM website and will be directed to the HHS website).

December 1, 2008: Second national stakeholder meeting, Irvine, CA
December 2, 2008: Closed committee meeting
Second National Stakeholder Meeting

December 1, 2008
National Academy of Sciences
Beckman Center Huntington Room
100 Academy Way
Irvine, CA

Please note:
Panelists’ titles and affiliations are provided at the end of the agenda.
(*) denotes panelists who will give a formal presentation
(†) panelists who contributed to the draft National Vaccine Plan

8:30 am-Welcome and Committee Introductions
Claire V. Broome
Committee Chair

8:45 – 10:15 am-Panel 1: Encouraging scientific innovation (new vaccines, better vaccines)
Moderator: Milagritos Tapia (IOM committee member)

Philip Dormitzer (Novartis)
Kathryn Edwards (Vanderbilt University)
Harry Greenberg (Stanford University)
Diane Griffin (Johns Hopkins University)
Emil Gotschlich (Rockefeller University)
Ed Mocarski* (MedImmune)
Barbara Mulach† (NIH/NIAID)
Stanley Plotkin* (Sanofi)
PowerPoint Presentation
Robin Robinson† (HHS/BARDA)
Rebecca Sheets† (NIH/NIAID) (via video)
Justin Wright (BD Medical-Pharmaceutical Systems)

10:15 – 10:30 pm-Break

10:30 – 11:15 am-Panel 1 continued

11:15 am – 12:30 pm-Panel 2: Financing vaccine research and development
Moderator: Claire V. Broome (IOM committee chair)

Harry B. Greenberg (Stanford University)
Karl D. Handelsman (CMEA Ventures)
David C. Kaslow (Merck)
Leighton Read* (Alloy Ventures)
Jeffrey Ulmer (Novartis)

12:30 – 1:30 pm-Lunch

1:30 – 3:00 pm-Panel 3: Addressing public needs and priorities
Moderator: Edgar Marcuse (IOM committee member)

Philip R. Dormitzer (Novartis)
Kathryn Edwards (Vanderbilt University)
David C. Kaslow (Merck)
Edward Mocarski (MedImmune)
Stanley A. Plotkin* (Sanofi)
Robin Robinson† (HHS/BARDA)

3:00 – 3:15 pm-Break

3:15 – 4:30 pm-Panel 4: Regulatory and other issues in developing and licensing novel processes, new technologies, etc.
Moderator: Arthur Reingold (IOM committee member)

David C. Kaslow (Merck)
Karen Midthun (FDA/CBER)
Leighton Read (Alloy Ventures)
Rebecca Sheets† (NIH/NIAID) (via video)
Jeffrey Ulmer (Novartis)
Karl D. Handelsman (CMEA Ventures )

4:30 – 5:30 pm-Closing dialogue
Moderator: Claire V. Broome (IOM committee chair)

Question to all stakeholders at the meeting: What criteria would you use to determine what objectives should receive the greatest level of attention in the national vaccine plan?

Final observations about the day’s discussions
All panelists and audience members

5:30 pm -Adjourn

Philip Dormitzer
Senior Director and Senior Project Leader (viral vaccine research)
Novartis Vaccines and Diagnostics 

Kathryn Edwards
Sarah Sell Professor of Pediatrics
Director, Division of Pediatric Clinical Research
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Harry B. Greenberg
Senior Associate Dean for Research and Training
Stanford University School of Medicine
Professor of Medicine (Gastroenterology & Hepatology) Microbiology and Immunology, and
Staff Physician VA Palo Alto Health Care System

Diane Griffin
Alfred and Jill Sommer Professor and Chair in Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Emil Gotschlich
R. Gwin Follis-Chevron Professor
Laboratory of Bacterial Pathogenesis and Immunology
Rockefeller University

Karl D. Handelsman
Managing Director
CMEA Ventures

David C. Kaslow
Vice President, Infectious Diseases and Vaccines Franchise
Merck Research Laboratories

Karen Midthun
Deputy Director, Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research
Food and Drug Administration

Edward S. Mocarski, Jr.*
Distinguished Fellow, MedImmune Vaccines
MedImmune, AstraZeneca
Professor Emeritus Stanford University
Robert W. Woodruff Professor in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Emory Vaccine Center, Emory University

Barbara Mulach†
Director, Office of Scientific Coordination and Program Operations
Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (DMID)
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
National Institutes of Health

Stanley Plotkin*
Executive Advisor to CEO, Sanofi Pasteur
Emeritus Professor of Pediatrics, University of Pennsylvania

Leighton Read*
General Partner
Alloy Ventures

Robin Robinson†
Director, Biomedical Advanced Research Development Authority
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

CAPT Rebecca Sheets†
Vaccine Scientific and Regulatory Specialist
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
National Institutes of Health

Jeffrey Ulmer
Global Head, External Research
Novartis Vaccines and Diagnostics

Justin Wright
Manager, Bio-Analytical Sciences
BD Medical-Pharmaceutical Systems

Previous Meetings for this Activity

Also of Interest