This globe image is composed of the flags of the seven African nations participating in the African Science Academy Development Initiative. The science academies of Nigeria, Uganda, and South Africa were chosen as the initial focal points for the effort. In addition, strategic-planning grants will be given to the science academies of Cameroon, Senegal, Ghana, and Kenya, as well as the regional African Academy of Sciences.
Contact Us

African Academy of Sciences

African Academy of Sciences was founded on 6th July 1985 in Trieste, Italy, as an autonomous Africa-wide professional, non-political and non-profit making organization. The Academy’s mandate covers four main principal areas: mobilization and strengthening of the African scientific community; publication and dissemination of scientific materials; research development and policy; and capacity building in science and technology.

Web site
phone Tel: +254 20 240 5150
+254 20 806 0674
+254 736 888 001
+254 725 290 145
address 8 Miotoni Lane, Karen
P.O. Box 24916-00502
Nairobi, Kenya
  The National Academies
Copyright © 2005. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved. 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001. Terms of Use and Privacy Statement.