This globe image is composed of the flags of the seven African nations participating in the African Science Academy Development Initiative. The science academies of Nigeria, Uganda, and South Africa were chosen as the initial focal points for the effort. In addition, strategic-planning grants will be given to the science academies of Cameroon, Senegal, Ghana, and Kenya, as well as the regional African Academy of Sciences.
Contact Us

Academy of Science of South Africa

The Academy of Science of South Africa was established in 1996. It is a member of the InterAcademy Panel (IAP) on which over 80 countries are represented, and has ties or agreements with some of the world's leading Science Academies. The Academy is taking up a place in South Africa's Science system as an independent, merit-based, "activist" body committed to assisting the nation to find science-based solutions for its problems and to create science-based opportunities for growth and prosperity.

Web site
phone Tel: (012) 349 6600
Tel: (012) 349 6621
Tel: (012) 349 6622

Fax: (012) 349 5461
address P.O. Box 72135
Lynnwood Ridge, South Africa
  The National Academies
Copyright © 2005. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved. 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001. Terms of Use and Privacy Statement.