OFFICE OF THE PROVOST



Elizabeth A. Graddy, Ph.D.

Executive Vice Provost

Jeffrey J. Miller Chair in Government, Business, and the Economy

MEMORANDUM

To: USC Community

From: Elizabeth A. Graddy

Executive Vice Provost

Date: February 26, 2019

Subject: USC Membership in the NASEM Action Collaborative on Preventing Sexual Harassment

in Higher Education

I am pleased to announce that the University of Southern California will become a founding member of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine's new Action Collaborative on Preventing Sexual Harassment in Higher Education. Recognizing the widespread impact of sexual harassment throughout the academia, this NASEM collaborative is charged with finding ways to prevent sexual harassment at all levels and in all disciplines, taking an active approach to effect genuine systemic change through policies and practices. The initiative has four primary objectives:

- To raise awareness about sexual harassment and how it occurs, the consequences of sexual harassment, and the organizational characteristics and recommended approaches that can prevent it;
- To share evidence-based institutional policies and strategies to reduce and prevent sexual harassment;
- To contribute to setting the research agenda, and to gather and apply research results across institutions:
- To develop a standard for measuring progress toward reducing and preventing sexual harassment in higher education.

As a founding member of this NASEM collaborative, the university will play a substantial role in developing the scope and vision of this important project and is making a pledge of significant financial support for the next four years. This investment reflects the Provost's deep commitment to address openly the issue of sexual harassment here at USC and to work together with our peer institutions to help prevent sexual harassment throughout higher education. These efforts are vital to upholding our core values and fulfilling our responsibility to our students, faculty, and staff.

Attached is the list of our representatives who will serve on this NASEM collaborative. I am grateful to these faculty members for devoting their time and expertise, and I look forward to working with them on this important initiative.

Institutional Representative: **Elizabeth Graddy**, Executive Vice Provost; Jeffrey J. Miller Chair in Government, Business, and the Economy

Shafiqa Ahmadi, Associate Professor of Clinical Education, Rossier School of Education

Zea Borok, Professor of Medicine; Chief, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, Keck School of Medicine

Devon Brooks, Associate Professor of Social Work, Department of Social Change and Innovation, Dworak-Peck School of Social Work

Cynthia Herrington, Associate Professor of Clinical Surgery, Keck School of Medicine

Rima Jubran, Professor of Clinical Pediatrics (Educational Scholar), Keck School of Medicine

Ellis Meng, Gabilan Distinguished Professor of Science and Engineering and Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Electrical Engineering-Electrophysics, Viterbi School of Engineering

Lara Nelson, Assistant Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, Keck School of Medicine

Parveen Parmar, Associate Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine; Chief, International Emergency Medicine, Keck School of Medicine

Lorraine P. Turcotte, Gabilan Distinguished Professor in Science and Engineering and Professor of Biological Sciences, Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences