

The Role of Research and Technology in the Changing Ocean Economy

Participants List

Chaouki	Abdallah	Executive Vice President for Research	Georgia Institute of Technology
Lillian	Andrews	Senior Program Assistant, GUIRR	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
Christopher	Austin	Director, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences	National Institutes of Health
Susan	Avery	President Emerita	Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Jack	Baldauf	Senior Associate Vice President for Research	Texas A&M University
Mary	Barber	Senior Environmental Scientist	RTI International
Ко	Barrett	Vice Chair	Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
James	Bellingham	Director of the Center for Marine Robotics	Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Suzanne	Bentzel	Director of Federal Relations	West Virginia University
Joshua	Berger	Governor's Maritime Sector Lead and Board Chair	State of Washington
Jodi	Black	Deputy Director, Office of Extramural Research	National Institutes of Health
James-Christian	Blockwood	Managing Director	Government Accountability Office
Tony	Boccanfuso	President	UIDP
Philip	Bucksbaum	Professor	Stanford University
Matthew	Burke	Senior Business Development Specialist	RTI International
Joan	Centrella	Executive in Residence	West Virginia University
Lauren	Cox	PR Manager	3M
Christine	Cutillo	Health Science Policy Analyst	National Institutes of Health
Megan	Davis	Research Professor, Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute	Florida Atlantic University
Heida	Diefenderfer	Earth Scientist	Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Taylor	Eighmy	President	The University of Texas at San Antonio
Mickey	Fitzmaurice	Senior Physical Scientist	National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Morris	Foster	Vice President for Research	Old Dominion University
Timothy	Gallaudet	Deputy Administrator	National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Simon	Geerlofs	Strategy Lead, Blue Economy and Ocean Partnerships	Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

The National Academies of SCIENCES • ENGINEERING • MEDICINE



William	Gerwick	Distinguished Professor	Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Gwynne	Grasberger	Research Strategic Initiatives	Drexel University
Alfred	Grasso	Past President and Chief Executive Officer	The MITRE Corporation
Molly	Grear	Marine Policy Fellow	National Science Foundation
James	Green	NASA Chief Scientist	National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Thomas	Hammes	Distinguished Research Fellow	National Defense University
Ed	Harnaga	Vice President	Pfizer
Thomas	Heibel	Water Power Program Manager	Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Ross	Henderson	CEO	CAREM, LLC
Victoria	Herrmann	President and Managing Director	The Arctic Institute
Michael	Hester	President and CEO	MSI STEM Research and Development Consortium
Peter	Hill	Director of Government Relations	Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Keith	Holtermann	Chief Learning Officer, CISA	Department of Homeland Security
David	Hume	Marine Energy Manager	Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Ahmad	Itani	Associate Vice President for Research	University of Nevada, Reno
Joel	Johnson	Advanced Technology Manager	L3Harris
Wayne	Johnson	Board Member	MSI STEM Research and Development Consortium
Bruce	Jones	Professor and Vice President for Research	Howard University
Mary	Juhas	Associate Vice President	The Ohio State University
John	Kastanas	Associate Director	California Institute of Technology
Robert	Kluttz	Chief Curiosity Officer	BAMP
Alison	Labbate	Senior Editorial Director	John Wiley and Sons
Andy	Lee	Chief Scientist, Engineering and Tech Strategy	L3Harris Technologies
James	Lepse	Dean of Faculty and Academic Programs	Eisenhower School, National Defense University
Laurie	Leshin	President	Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Gina	Lohr	Senior Associate Vice Provost Research	George Washington University
David	Luzzi	Senior Vice Provost for Research	Northeastern University
Michele	Masucci	Vice President for Research	Temple University
Emily	McAuliffe	Research Assistant	House of Representatives
April	Melvin	Program Officer	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
Vernon	Morris	Professor	Howard University
Laura	Naramore	Director, Public Sector	The MITRE Corporation

The National Academies of SCIENCES • ENGINEERING • MEDICINE



Spike	Narayan	Director, Science and Technology	IBM
Ann	Ngo	Senior International Trade Specialist	U.S. Department of Commerce
Megan	Nicholson	Program Officer, GUIRR	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
David	Norton	Vice President for Research	University of Florida
Sean	O'Brien	Colonel, USAF	National Defense University
Jacqueline M.	Olich	Vice President, University Collaborations	RTI International
Grace	O'Sullivan	Associate Vice President, Corporate Engagement	Arizona State University
Randy	Ozden	CEO and President	Streamlyne
Timothy	Persons	Chief Scientist, Managing Director	Government Accountability Office
Anton	Post	Associate Vice President for Corporate and International	Florida Atlantic University
Alexandra	Refosco	Research Associate	The Ocean Foundation
Bradley	Ritts	Associate Vice President for Research	University of Idaho
Rodney	Robertson	Executive Director	Auburn University
Frederick	Roegge	President, National Defense University	National Defense University
Nicholas	Rome	Program Manager	Consortium for Ocean Leadership
Mariett	Sanha	Assistant Vice President Industry and Corporate Research	The George Washington University
Dan	Sarewitz	Professor	Arizona State University
John	Sawyer	Director, Strategic Research Initiatives	University of Maryland College Park
Carl	Schramm	University Professor	Syracuse University
Lawrence	Schuette	Director	Lockheed Martin Corporation
Tom	Skalak	Senior Advisor	Clara Wu and Joe Tsai Foundation
Lucio	Soibelman	Professor and Department Chair, Viterbi Sonny Astani Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering	University of Southern California
Kelly	Sullivan	Institutional Science and Technology Investments	Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Ester	Sztein	Assistant Director, Board on International Scientific Organizations	National Academy of Science
Andrew	Tein	Vice President, Global Government Affairs	John Wiley & Sons, Inc
Cristina	Thomas	Global Research and Development Services Leader	3M
Klaus	Tilmes	Senior Policy Advisor	ACET
Emily	Twigg	Program Officer, Ocean Studies Board	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

The National Academies of SCIENCES • ENGINEERING • MEDICINE



Marianne	Walck	Deputy Laboratory Director, Chief Research Officer	Idaho National Laboratory
Jon	White	President and CEO	Consortium for Ocean Leadership
Chong Wing	Yung	Research Program Manager	Agilent