

GUIRR Meeting Series:

Strengthening U.S. Science and Technology Leadership through Global Cooperation and Partnership

Maintaining U.S. Leadership in International Standards Bodies

March 11, 2021 Participants List

Chaouki	Abdallah	Georgia Institute of Technology	Executive Vice President for Research
Cynthia	Atkins-Duffin	Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory	Global Security Principal Deputy
Kathie	Bailey	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine	Board Director
Amrit	Bart	U.S. Department of Agriculture	Director of International Programs, National Institute of Food and Agriculture
John	Bittman	National Institute of Standards and Technology	Interagency Policy Specialist
Mike	Brzezinski	Purdue University	Dean, International Programs
Leah	Buckley	U.S. Food and Drug Administration	Director
Philip	Bucksbaum	Stanford University	Professor
Steven	Cooley	U.S. Food and Drug Administration	Cybersecurity, Counterintelligence, and Insider Threat Team Lead
Nathaniel	Dailey	MITRE	Principal Enterprise Architect
Shamik	Das	MITRE	Division Chief Engineer
Mindel	De La Torre	International Strategy Officer at Omnispace	Chief Regulatory
Brystol	English	House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology	Policy Advisor
Gerald	Epstein	National Defense University	Distinguished Fellow
Roger	Falcone	University of California, Berkeley	Professor
Fort	Felker	U.S. Department of State	Foreign Affairs Officer
Ana	Ferreras	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine	Senior Program Officer
Terrill	Frantz	Harrisburg University	Professor
Jamie	French	National Science Foundation	Division Director
Mridul	Gautam	University of Nevada, Reno	Vice President for Research and Innovation

The National Academies of SCIENCES • ENGINEERING • MEDICINE



Gordon	Gillerman	National Institute of Standards and Technology	Director
Al	Grasso	MITRE	Past President
Angelique	Hedberg	RTI International	Director, Corporate Strategy
Michael	Hodges	Princeton University	Associate Director
Lefteris	lakovou	Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station	Professor and Director of Manufacturing and Logistics Innovation Initiatives
Austin	Imperato	IBM Corporation	Chief of Staff, Government & Regulatory Affairs
Prem	Jain	MITRE	Principal Engineer
Ajit	Jillavenkatesa	Apple	Senior Standards Policy Legal Advisor
Cate	Johnson	House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology	Senior Professional Staff
Mary	Juhas	The Ohio State University	Associate Vice President
Elinor	К	U.S. Department of State	Foreign Affairs
Laurie	Leshin	Worcester Polytechnic Institute	President
Astrid	Lewis	U.S. Department of State	Foreign Affairs Officer
Kristin	Little	Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers	Senior Manager, Public Affairs
Laurie	Locascio	University of Maryland	Vice President for Research
John	LoSecco	U.S. Agency for International Development	Senior Innovations Advisor
Ken	Lowery	U.S. Codex Office	Senior International Issues Analyst
Raj	Madhavan	U.S. Department of State	Science and Technology Policy Fellow
Alyson	Manning	U.S. Department of State	Research Specialist
Elliott	Mason	Young Basile	Patent Agent
Michele	Masucci	Temple University	Vice President for Research
Katherine	Matheson	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine	Program Director, U.S Egypt S&T Joint Fund
Esha	Mathew	U.S. Department of State	Foreign Affairs Officer
Karen	McCabe	Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers	Senior Director, Public Affairs
Andrew	Merluzzi	U.S. Agency for International Development	AAAS Science and Technology Fellow
Celia	Merzbacher	SRI International	QED-C Deputy Director
Judith	Miller		Independent consultant

The National Academies of SCIENCES • ENGINEERING • MEDICINE



Jim	Mullinax	U.S. Department of State	Deputy Director, Office of Intellectual Property Enforcement
Christopher	Nomura	University of Idaho	Vice President for Research
Mark	Pecen	Quantum Valley Ideas Lab	Senior Advisor
Patrick	Reilly	U.S. Department of State	Foreign Affairs Officer
William	Roach	Air Force Office of Scientific Research	Chief Scientist
Sarah	Rovito	Rovito Ventures LLC	Consultant
Susan Sauer	Sloan	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine	Director, Government-University-Industry Research Roundtable
Bettina	Schuffert	German Research Foundation	Program Officer
Scott	Sellars	U.S. Department of State	Science and Technology Policy Advisor
Surajit	Sen	State University of New York System, Buffalo	Professor
Sara	Shah	U.S. Department of Defense	Wireless & Mobile Policy SME
Frank	Siewerdt	U.S. Department of Agriculture	National Program Leader, Animal Genetics, Genomics, and Welfare, National Institute of Food and Agriculture
Tom	Skalak	Joe and Clara Tsai Foundation	Senior Advisor
Brianna	Skinner	U.S. Food and Drug Administration	Senior Regulatory Veterinarians
Heather	Skinner	Drexel University	Director of Research Compliance
Mary	Snitch	Lockheed Martin	Senior Manager
Corey	Stambaugh	White House Office of Science and Technology Policy	Industrial Liaison
Laura	Steckman	Air Force Office of Scientific Research	Program Officer
Elizabeth	Stower	3M	Policy and Standards Development
Kelly	Sullivan	Pacific Northwest National Laboratory	Institutional Science and Technology Investments
Ester	Sztein	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine	Assistant Director, Board on International Scientific Organizations
Cristina	Thomas	3M	Global Research and Development Services Leader
Jill	Toft	The Ohio State University	Executive Assistant to the Vice Provost for Global Strategies and International Affairs
James	Tsang		
Mario	Velasquez	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine	Senior Audio Visual Technician
Andre	Walker	The University of Chicago	Pre-Award Research Administrator

The National Academies of SCIENCES • ENGINEERING • MEDICINE



Thomas	Walsh	Federal Bureau of Investigation	Intelligence Analyst
Tom	Wang	National Institute of Standards and Technology	Senior International Program Manager
Paula	Whitacre	Full Circle Communications	Principal
Scott	Wicker	U.S. Department of State	Jefferson Science Fellow
Michael	Willey	Elsevier	Solution Sales Manager, Research Intelligence
Jodi	Williams	U.S. Codex Office	Deputy Manager
Ellen	Winsor	EMW Consulting, LLC	NWC non-Resident Research Fellow
Cathy	Wissink	Microsoft	Senior Director, International Standards