

12:00 P.M. - 4:00 P.M. EST

12:00 – 12:15 P.M. Opening Remarks

Evelynn Hammonds, Barbara Gutmann Rosenkrantz Professor of the History of Science and of African and African American Studies, Harvard University; Committee Co-Chair

Valerie Taylor, Director of the Mathematics and Computer Science Division and Distinguished Fellow, Argonne National Laboratory; Committee Co-Chair

12:15 – 12:45 P.M. Structural and Social Barriers and Supports: An Overview of the Literature

Mia Ong, Senior Research Scientist and Evaluator, TERC; Committee Member

Allison Scott, Chief Executive Officer, Kapor Center; Committee Member

12:45 – 1:30 P.M. Higher Education: Challenging Assumptions

Kim Scott, Professor of Women and Gender Studies, Arizona State University; Committee Member

Panelists:

Twyla Baker, President, Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College

Tsu-Jae King Liu, Dean and Roy W. Carlson Professor of Engineering, College of Engineering, University of California, Berkeley

1:30—2:00 P.M. Tech Industry: Improving Recruitment, Retention, and Advancement

Jamika Burge, Director of Design Research, Capital One; Co-founder of blackcomputeHer.org; Committee Member

Panelists:

Oona King, Vice President of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, SNAP Inc.

Patty Lopez, Intel Encore Computer Science Fellow in Residence, New Mexico State University, former Senior Platform Applications Engineer, Intel

2:00—2:15 P.M. Break

2:15 – 3:00 P.M. The Role of Government

Frances Colon, Senior Director, Center for American Progress; Committee Member

Panelists:

Fay Cobb Payton, Former NSF Program Director; Professor Emerita; Chief Program Officer, Kapor Foundation

Michelle Rogers, Program Director, Computer and Information Science and Engineering Directorate, National Science Foundation

Sesha Joi Moon, Chief Diversity Officer, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Mojdeh Bahar, Assistant Director for Innovation and Industry Services, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Sara Barber, Senior Professional Staff, U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on Science, Space, and Technology

3:00 – 3:30 P.M. Alternative Pathways and the Role of Professional Societies

Sarah Echohawk, Chief Executive Officer, American Indian Science and Engineering Society; Committee Member

Panelists:

Carla Brodley, Professor and Dean of Inclusive Computing, Northeastern University; Executive Director, Center for Inclusive Computing

Kathy DeerInWater, Chief Program Officer, American Indian Science and Engineering Society

Michael Feder, Director of the AAAS SEA Change Institute, the AAAS Committee on Opportunities in Science, and the Marion Milligan Mason Award

3:30—3:35 P.M. Closing Remarks and Thank You

Ashley Bear, Acting Director, Committee on Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine, National Academies

4:00 – 5:00 P.M. Private* Session to Explore Establishing an Action Collaborative on Transforming Trajectories for Women of Color in Tech

*Open to those who register to attend. This session will bring together a cross-sector group of stakeholders to discuss opportunities for collective action guided by the report, such as through the establishment of an Action Collaborative. Contact Abi Harless at AHarless@nas.edu to register to attend.