Review of the Continued Analysis of Supplemental Treatment of Low-Activity Waste at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation

PUBLIC AGENDA

Date: April 26 – 28, 2022

Location: Holiday Inn Richland on the River

802 George Washington Way, Richland, WA 99352

AND VIRTUALLY WEBCAST:

https://www.nationalacademies.org/event/04-26-2022/review-of-the-continued-analysis-of-supplemental-treatment-of-low-activity-waste-

at-the-hanford-nuclear-reservation-april-2022-meeting

Day 1: Tuesday, April 26 (All times are US Pacific)

PUBLIC SESSION

7:35 am – 9:00 am Hanford Site Cleanup Overview

Introduction

Brian Vance, Manager, DOE Hanford

Site & History, Cleanup Progress

Elaine Porcaro, Chief Engineer, DOE Hanford; Karthik Subramanian, Chief Engineer, WRPS

Groundwater & the Tanks

Naomi Jaschke, Soil & Groundwater Division Supervisor, DOE Hanford; Elaine Porcaro, Chief Engineer, DOE Hanford

Tank Integrity

Karthik Subramanian, Chief Engineer, WRPS; Erik Nelson, Tank Integrity Lead, DOE Hanford

Treatment & System Planning

Todd Wagnon, Flowsheet Integration Manager, WRPS. Richard Valle, Tank Farms Program Manager, DOE Hanford

Other Impacts of Treatment Options

Laura Cree, Flowsheet Definition & Analysis Manager, WRPS

Summary

Ricky Bang, Tank Farms Program Division Director, DOE Hanford

9:00 – 9:20 am Tc-99 and I-129 current dosimetry standards

Day 2: Wednesday, April 27, 2022 (All times are US Pacific)

PUBLIC SESSION

7:30 – 7:35 am	Call Open PUBLIC SESSION to Order and Welcome to Day 2 of the Second Public Meeting John S. Applegate, Committee Chair, and Mike Janicke, Study Director
7:35 – 8:05 am	Federally Funded Research and Development Centers (FFRDC) Draft Report Overview William Bates, Deputy Associate Laboratory Director, Savannah River National Laboratory (SRNL)
8:05 – 8:45 am	Process and Feed Vector Overview Michael Stone, Wasteform Processing Technology, SRNL
8:45 – 9:15 am	Decision Framework Overview David Tate, Institute for Defense Analyses
9:15 – 9:35 am	Onsite Disposal Description Stephanie Johansen, Advisor for the Earth Systems Science Division at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL)
9:35 – 10:00 am	Break (25 min)
10:00 – 10:40 am	Offsite Disposal and Transportation Description Elena Kalinina, Spent Nuclear Fuel Storage, Transportation, Safety and Security Department at Sandia National Laboratories
10:40 – 11:10 am	Alternative Descriptions Dan McCabe, Senior Scientist SRNL
11:10 am – 12:30 pm	Break - Private Committee Lunch
12:30 – 1:10 pm	Uncertainty Drivers in the Alternatives & Updated Information Since 2017-NDAA-3134 Matt Asmussen, Nuclear Sciences Division of the Energy and Environment Directorate, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL)
1:10 – 1:40 pm	Alternative Analyses Dan McCabe, Senior Scientist SRNL
1:40 – 2:50 pm	Cost and Schedule Methodology and Estimates

2:50 – 3:10 pm	Break (20 minutes)
3:10 – 3:40 pm	Assessment Summary and Results Matt Champagney, technical advisor to Parsons' National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) Enterprise Construction Management Services (ECMS)
3:40 – 3:50 pm	Summary and Conclusions William Bates, SRNL
3:50 – 4:00 pm	Break (10 minutes)
4:00 – 5:00 pm	Public Comment Period
5:00 pm	Adjourn PUBLIC SESSION

Day 3: Thursday, April 28, 2022 (All times are US Pacific)

PUBLIC SESSION

7:30 – 7:40 am	Call Open PUBLIC SESSION to Order and Welcome to Day 3 of the Second Public Meeting John S. Applegate, Committee Chair, and Mike Janicke, Study Director
7:40 – 8:10 am	U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) Jeffrey Larson, Nathan Anderson, Amanda Kolling
8:10 – 8:40 am	Washington State, Department of Ecology Jay Decker, Suzanne Dahl
8:40 – 9:00 am	Oregon Department of Energy Jeff Burright
9:00 – 9:20 am	Break (20 min)
9:20 – 9:50 am	Yakama Nation Radioactive Waste Remediation and Natural Resources
	McClure Tosch, Phil Rigdon
9:50 – 10:10 am	McClure Tosch, Phil Rigdon Hanford Challenge Nikolas Peterson, Marco Kaltofen
9:50 – 10:10 am 10:10 – 10:30 am	Hanford Challenge
	Hanford Challenge Nikolas Peterson, Marco Kaltofen Tri-City Development Council, TRIDEC and Executive Director of Hanford Communities