The National Academies of SCIENCES • ENGINEERING • MEDICINE Assessment of the SBIR and STTR Programs at at the National Institutes of Health

2nd Meeting: 1-3 June 2020 Via Zoom

Monday – June 1, 2020 Via Zoom OPEN SESSION

2:00 PM Welcome and Introductions Maryann Feldman, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Scott Stern, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2:05 PM The Big Picture

Moderator: Maryann Feldman, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Manuel Trajtenberg, Tel Aviv University John Van Reenen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Joshua Lerner, Harvard Business School

3:30 PM Break

4:00 PM The SBIR/STTR Ecosystem Moderator: Stephanie Shipp, Biocomplexity Institute and Initiative at the University of Virginia

John Harthorne, MassChallenge/Two Lanterns Venture Partners Greg Keenan, Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (WARF) Trevor Loy, Flywheel Ventures Phil Weilerstein, VentureWell John Younger, University City Science Center

5:30 PM Adjourn Day 1

Tuesday – June 2, 2020 Via Zoom OPEN SESSION

11:00 AM Welcome and Introductions Maryann Feldman, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Scott Stern, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

11:05 AM Perspectives from SBIR Awardees

Moderator: Gavi Begtrup, Eccrine Systems

Shafi Goldwasser, MIT, UC Berkeley. Duality Technologies/Avometric Chang Hee Kim, GoDx Peter Leonardi, OmniCyte Donald McPherson, Enchroma Chia Soo. UCLA, Scarless Labs

12:45 PM Break

1:30 PM Key Factors Shaping the Efficacy of Targeted Innovation Programs such as the SBIR/STTR Moderator: Joshua Graff Zivin, UCSD

> Gaétan de Rassenfosse, EPFL Donna Ginther, University of Kansas Sabrina Howell, New York University

3:00 PM Break

3:30 PM Perspectives from STTR Awardees Moderator: Alicia Loffler, Northwestern University

> Susan Catalano and Nicholas Izzo, Cognition Therapeutics, Inc. Michael O'Rand, Eppin Pharma Stanley Kim, WinSanTor David Mann, Vascular Biosciences

5:00 PM Adjourn Day 2

Wednesday – June 3, 2020 CLOSED SESSION

Wednesday – June 3, 2020 Via Zoom OPEN SESSION

- 4:00 PM Welcome and Introduction Maryann Feldman, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Scott Stern, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- **4:05 PM Committee Q&A with Sponsor Representatives** Jodi Black, Matt McMahon, and Stephanie Fertig, National Institutes of Health
- 5:00 PM Adjourn Day 3