

GUIRR Meeting Series: Partnerships and Cross-Sector Collaboration to Support Climate Science and Policy

The State of U.S. Climate Science and Research Infrastructure

June 15, 2021 Participants List

Chaouki	Abdallah	Georgia Institute of Technology	Executive Vice President for Research
Rebecca	Adler Miserendino	Lewis Burke Associates	Principal
Jeffrey	Alexander	RTI International	Director, Innovation Policy
Tarabay	Antoun	Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory	Program Manager
Ко	Barrett	National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration	Senior Advisor for Climate
Amrit	Bart	U.S. Department of Agriculture	National Program Leader, National Institute of Food and Agriculture
Ashley	Bieniek-Tobasco	U.S. Department of Labor	Health Scientist, Occupational Safety and Health Administration
Stephen	Bollens	Washington State University	Professor and Director
Betsy	Cantwell	University of Arizona	Senior Vice President of Research
Joan	Centrella	West Virginia University	Director, Bridge Initiative in Science and Technology Policy
Pamela	Chu	National Institute of Standards and Technology	Research Chemist
Ferdouz	Cochran	The MITRE Corporation	Climate-Health Science Lead
Scott	Cooper	Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University	President and Chief Executive Officer
Carmen	Covelli	DuPont	Technical Laureate
Megan	Crocker	CSIRO U.S.	Director, Strategic Partnerships
Saugata	Datta	University of Texas at San Antonio	Professor and Director of the Institute for Water Research, Sustainability, and Policy
Rebecca	DeBoer	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine	Research Assistant
Erica	Dintaman	National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration	Senior Analyst
Brooke	Eastman	West Virginia University	Graduate Student

The National Academies of SCIENCES • ENGINEERING • MEDICINE



Kris	Ebi	University of Washington	Professor, The Center for Health and the Global Environment
Patricia	Falcone	Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory	Deputy Director for Science and Technology
Meg	Flanagan	U.S. Department of State	Foreign Affairs Officer
Christopher	Geiger	Lockheed Martin	Enterprise Risk and Sustainability Director
Stacey	Gifford	IBM	Research Manager
Rosa	Golchin	AAAS	Intern
Carol	Goldsmith	Texas A&M University	Senior Research Associate
Al	Grasso	The MITRE Corporation	Past President
Robert	Gray	DuPont	Climate and Water Strategist
Lin	Не	National Science Foundation	Program Director
John	Hildebrand	National Academy of Science	International Secretary
Peter	Hill	Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution	Director of Government Relations
Karen	Howard	Government Accountability Office	Office Director, Science Technology Assessment and Analytics
John	Howard	Dell Technologies	Director, Government Affairs & Public Policy
Prem	Jain	The MITRE Corporation	Principal Engineer
Michael	Jones	West Virginia University	Policy Analysis Intern, The Bridge Initiative
Mary	Juhas	The Ohio State University	Associate Vice President in the Office of Research
Kamila	Kazimierczuk	Pacific Northwest National Laboratory	Wind Energy Analyst
Michael	Kintner-Meyer	Pacific Northwest National Laboratory	Staff Scientist
Robert	Kluttz	BAMP	Chief Executive Officer
Travis	Knoll	RTI International	Project Manager
Andy	Lee	L3Harris	Technical Fellow
Cassie	Lee	Lockheed Martin	Advanced Programs
Laurie	Leshin	Worcester Polytechnic Institute	President
John	LoSecco	U.S. Agency for International Development	Advisor
Bryan	Mark	Ohio State University	Professor
Jessica	Marx	National Academy of Medicine	Program Officer
Nick	McLoota	The MITRE Corporation	Economist
Rajesh	Mehta	National Science Foundation	Program Director
Betsy	Melenbrink	U.S. Department of State	Science and Technology Officer
Tom	Moss	National Academy of Science	

The National Academies of SCIENCES • ENGINEERING • MEDICINE



Dan	Neumann	National Institute of Standards and Technology	Physicist
Aron	Newman	National Institute of Standards and Technology	Group Leader
Steven	Omick	Riverside Research	Chief Executive Officer
Megan	O'Rourke	U.S. Department of Agriculture	National Program Leader
Scott	Osborne	The Ohio State University	Vice President, Innovation and Economic Development
Eliana	Perlmutter	Lewis-Burke Associates	Government Relations Associate
Anne	Petersen	University of Michigan	Research Professor
Amanda	Purcell	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine	Senior Program Officer
Alex	Reich	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine	Associate Program Officer
Jennifer	Richkus	The MITRE Corporation	Strategist
Todd	Ringler	Science Technology Policy Institute	Senior Policy Analyst
Jenna	Schroeder	Pacific Northwest National Laboratory	Tech Student
Adria	Schwarber	American Institute of Physics	Analyst
Surajit	Sen	The State University of New York at Buffalo	Professor of Physics
Budd	Shaffer	KeyLogic	Director
Lexi	Shultz	American Geophysical Union	Vice President, Science Policy and Government Relations
Frank	Siewerdt	U.S. Department of Agriculture	National Program Leader, National Institute of Food and Agriculture
Kelly	Sims Gallagher	Tufts University	Academic Dean and Professor, Energy and Environmental Policy at The Fletcher School
Tom	Skalak	Joe and Clara Tsai Foundation	Senior Advisor
Susan	Sloan	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine	Director, Government-University-Industry Research Roundtable
Ann	Stapleton	U.S. Department of Agriculture	National Program Leader, National Institute of Food and Agriculture
Amanda	Staudt	National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine	Director, Board on Atmospheric Sciences and Climate
Laura	Steckman	Air Force Office of Scientific Research	Program Officer
Dave	Strichartz	Pfizer	Senior Manager, Science and Clinical External Communications

The National Academies of SCIENCES • ENGINEERING • MEDICINE



Kelly	Sullivan	Pacific Northwest National Laboratory	Institutional Science and Technology Investments
Jon	Taylor	The University of Texas at San Antonio	Professor of Political Science and Department Chair
Lydia	Thomas	Noblis	President and Chief Executive Officer
Paul	Uhlir	Consultant	Information Policy and Management
Ernesto	Vera	DuPont	Senior Technology Fellow
Paul	Voosen	Science	Reporter
Marianne	Walck	Idaho National Laboratory	Deputy Laboratory Director, Chief Research Officer
Duane	Waliser	Jet Propulsion Laboratory	Senior Research Scientist
Catherine	Walker	National Science Foundation	Associate Program Director
Grace	Wang	The Ohio State University	Executive Vice President, Research, Innovation and Knowledge
Rachel	Wangerin	3M	Senior Technical Supervisor
Scott	Weaver	National Institute of Standards and Technology	Director, National Windstorm Impact Reduction Program
Jeff	Welser	IBM Research	Vice President
James	Whetstone	National Institute of Standards and Technology	Assistant to the Director for Greenhouse Gas Measurements
Paula	Whitacre	Full Circle Communications	Principal
Dave	White	Arizona State University	Deputy Director and Professor
Kasey	White	Geological Society of America	Director for Geoscience Policy
Scott	Wicker	U.S. Department of State	Jefferson Science Fellow
Michael	Willey	Elsevier	Solutions Sales Manager, Research Intelligence