

Understanding Research Globalization in the Context of National Security and Prosperity

October 21-22, 2013

Final Attendees List

Erik Antonsson

Corporate Director of Technology Northrop Grumman Corporation

Rebecca Arbogast

Vice President, Public Policy Comcast-NBCUniversal

Sam Armstrong

General USAF & NASA (retired)

Jacques Banchereau

Director of Immunological Sciences The Jackson Laboratory

Claudette Baylor-Fleming

Administrative Coordinator The National Academies

Ed Beard

Senior Advisor University of Massachusetts

Bob Berinato

Chief Research Scientist Dynetics

Bill Berry

Director
The National Academies

Rich Bissell

Executive Director National Research Council

Anthony Boccanfuso

Executive Director UIDP

Lee Branstetter

Professor Carnegie Mellon University

Richard Buckius

Vice President for Research Purdue University

Susan Butts

President Susan B. Butts Consulting

Patrick Carrick

Acting Director Air Force Office of Scientific Research

Leo Chalupa

Vice President for Research George Washington University

Uma Chowdhry

Senior Vice President and Chief Science and Technology Officer Emeritus DuPont

Gwen Coat

Senior Program Associate AAAS

E. William Colglazier

Science and Technology Adviser to the Secretary U.S. Department of State

Walt Downing

Executive Vice President Southwest Research Institute

Karina Edmonds

Executive Director California Institute of Technology

Taylor Eighmy

Vice Chancellor for Research & Engagement
The University of Tennessee

John Evans

Vice President, International Engineering and Technology Lockheed Martin

Patricia Falcone

Associate Director, National Security & International Affairs Division White House Office of Science and Technology Policy





Jonathan Felbinger

AAAS S&T Policy Fellow DoD Basic Research Office

Kevin Finneran

Director, Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy The National Academies

Pamela Flattau

Adjunct RSM IDA STPI

Dennis Fortner

Senior Manager Intellectual Property & Strategic Technology Agreements Northrop Grumman

Rick French

Director of External and Federal Relations West Virginia University

Erica Fuchs

Associate Professor Department of Engineering and Public Policy

Jacques Gansler

Professor, Public Policy and Private Enterprise University of Maryland

Matthew Gerdin

Foreign Affairs Officer U.S. Department of State

Aura Gimm

S&T Policy Fellow AAAS/DoD

Jesse Goodman

Chief Scientist U.S. Food and Drug Administration

F. Gray Handley

Associate Director for International Research Affairs National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Robert Hardy

Director, Contracts and IP Management COGR

John Hickman

Director, Global University Relations and Life Sciences John Deere

Kent Hughes

Public Policy Scholar The Woodrow Wilson Center

Katie Kalinowski

Senior Program Associate The National Academies

Michael Kassner

Professor University of Southern California

John Kastanas

Associate Director California Institute of Technology

Kathleen Kingscott

Senior Director, Global Partnerships IBM Corporation

Ralph Kuncl

President University of Redlands

Rachel E. Levinson

Director, National Research Initiatives Arizona State University

Gina Lohr

Senior Advisor to the Vice President for Research George Washington University

David Luzzi

Executive Director Strategic Security Initiative Northeastern University

Elizabeth Lyons

Senior Advisor STAS/OES Department of State

Michele Masucci

Interim Senior Vice Provost for Research Temple University

Goran Matijasevic

Executive Director, UCI Chief Executive Roundtable University of California, Irvine

Keith McBride

Military Assistant to the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering Pentagon

Celia Merzbacher

Vice President, Innovative Partnerships Semiconductor Research Corp.





Mahlet Mesfin

AAAS S&T Policy Fellow AAAS/DoD

Laurena Mostella

Administrative Assistant The National Academies

Dan Mote

President National Academy of Engineering

Stephen Nappi

Director, Technology Development and Commercialization Temple University

Takashi Ohama

Director, Washington, DC Office Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST)

Daryl Pelc

Vice President of Engineering & Technology Phantom Works, Boeing Defense, Space & Security

Maria Penedo

Distinguished Tech Fellow Northrop Grumman

Kurt Preston

Associate Vice Chancellor for Research University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Deborah Radasch

Director, Strategic Universities The Boeing Company

Andrew Reynolds

Deputy Advisor Office of the S&T Adviser to the Secretary of State

Rodney Robertson

Executive Director Auburn University Huntsville Research Center

Thomas Russo

Assistant Vice President, Industry/Corp. Research The George Washington University

Susan Sedwick

Associate Vice President for Research and Director, Sponsored Projects The University of Texas at Austin

Alan Shaffer

Acting Assistant Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering U.S. Department of Defense

Nick Shahan

Program Analyst Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering Booz Allen Hamilton

Volker Sick

Associate Vice President -Engineering and Natural Sciences University of Michigan, Office of Research

Susan Sloan

Director, GUIRR
The National Academies

David Spencer

Chairman of the Board wTe Corporation

Christopher Stagg

Associate Williams Mullen

Scott Steele

Director, Research Alliances University of Rochester

Ellen Stofan

Chief Scientist National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Miron Straf

Deputy Director
The National Academies

Kathrvn Sullivan

Senior Advisor
National Science Foundation

Nora Tgavalekos

Senior Manager Raytheon

Lydia Thomas

President & CEO (retired) Noblis

Judith Torney-Purta

Professor University of Maryland

Harold Varmus

Director National Cancer Institute





Caroline Wagner

Wolf Chair in International Affairs The Ohio State University

Leigh Warner

Founder InterCHANGE

John S Wenstrand

Director, University Relations & External Research Agilent Technologies, Inc.

Madura Wijerwardena

Senior Director Comcast-NBCUniversal

Catherine Woteki

Under Secretary for Research, Education, and Economics Chief Scientist U.S. Department of Agriculture **David Wright**

Executive Director FDP

Patricia Wrightson

Associate Director The National Academies

