

Committee on Independent Scientific Review of Everglades Restoration Progress

Third Meeting of CISRERP 2024 Biennial Review

Embassy Suites 1100 SE 17th St, Ft. Lauderdale September 27, 2023

DRAFT AGENDA

OPEN SESSION (all welcome)

9:30 am Welcome

Jim Saiers, committee chair

Session 1: CERP climate efforts

Climate Change and BBSEER Planning

9:35 am Overview of BBSEER objectives relative to current ecological conditions
Nicole Niemeyer, SFWMD

9:40 am Consideration of climate change in BBSEER planning
Gina Ralph, USACE

9:55 am Modeling strategies to analyze climate change effects on BBSEER alternatives
Walter Wilcox, SFWMD

10:15 am BBSEER Alternatives, Sea Level Rise, and Resilience

Jennifer John, USACE
Fred Sklar, SFWMD

11:00 am DOI perspectives on an adaptive process for BBSEER for the Cape Sable seaside sparrow, considering climate change issues

Erik Stabenau, NPS Bonnie Irving, FWS

Carlos Coronado, SFWMD

11:15 am Q&A/panel discussion with all speakers

Vulnerability Assessment

11:40 am Vulnerability assessment analyses and how these could be used in CERP

Laura D'Acunto, USGS Stephanie Romanach, USGS (virtual)

12:00 pm **LUNCH** (lunch is provided free of charge for speakers; all others were required to register in advance—registration is now closed)

Session 2: Adaptive Management

1:00 pm Panel Discussion: Policy and implementation challenges and opportunities for adaptive management and incorporating new science in decision-making in CERP

Angie Dunn, USACE (virtual)
Adam Gelber, DOI
Debby Scerno, USACE (virtual)
Eva Velez, USACE
Leslye Waugh, SFWMD
Larry Williams, FWS

Session 3: Strategies to better incorporate ITEK in CERP

1:50 pm Southwest FL RECOVER module

Jenna May, USACE, RECOVER (virtual)

2:00 pm Panel Discussion: Potential strategies to better incorporate indigenous traditional ecological knowledge (ITEK) into CERP

Kevin Cunniff will provide opening remarks, followed by discussion/Q&A with the whole panel and committee.

Kevin Cunniff, Miccosukee Tribe
Jennifer John, USACE
Phyllis Klarmann, SFWMD
Gina Ralph, USACE
Armando Ramirez, SFWMD
Fred Sklar, SFWMD
Erik Stabenau, NPS
Cindy Thomas, USACE

- 3:00 pm **Public comment** (Members of the public interested in addressing the committee for up to 3 minutes must sign up during the meeting before 2:00 p.m.)
- 3:15 pm Adjourn open session