This globe image is composed of the flags of the seven African nations participating in the African Science Academy Development Initiative. The science academies of Nigeria, Uganda, and South Africa were chosen as the initial focal points for the effort. In addition, strategic-planning grants will be given to the science academies of Cameroon, Senegal, Ghana, and Kenya, as well as the regional African Academy of Sciences.
Contact Us

Prof. Gideon B. A. Okelo

Professor Gideon B. A. Okelo

Secretary General and Acting Executive Director, African Academy of Sciences, Kenya

Gideon Barak Agembo Okelo is currently the Executive Director and Secretary General of the African Academy of Sciences having been the Secretary General of the organization since 1989. He is also Professor of Medicine at the University of Nairobi, Kenya. He is also a Senior Consultant Physician, specialist in Infectious Diseases and a Global Authority on Echinocococcosis.

He was educated at and holds qualifications from The Universities of Delhi, Calcutta, Edinburgh Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene and the University of Nairobi. He is a Fellow of Royal College of Physicians the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, the African Academy of Sciences, the Third World Academy of Sciences, and a member of the Institute of Biology, London.

Web site
phone Tel: (254 20) 884-401
Fax: (254 20) 884-406
address African Academy of Sciences
P.O. Box 14798
Nairobi, Kenya
  The National Academies
Copyright © 2005. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved. 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001. Terms of Use and Privacy Statement.