This globe image is composed of the flags of the seven African nations participating in the African Science Academy Development Initiative. The science academies of Nigeria, Uganda, and South Africa were chosen as the initial focal points for the effort. In addition, strategic-planning grants will be given to the science academies of Cameroon, Senegal, Ghana, and Kenya, as well as the regional African Academy of Sciences.
Contact Us

Dr. Enriqueta Bond

Prof. Alhaji Umaru Shehu

Professor Emeritus, Community Medicine, University of Maiduguri Teaching Hospital, Nigeria

Shehu is also the joint editor-in-chief of the British Medical Journal, West African Edition. In 1990 he was the World Health Organization's representative to Ethiopia and the director of the WHO Sub-Regional Health Development Office from 1985 to 1989.

Web site
  The National Academies
Copyright © 2005. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved. 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001. Terms of Use and Privacy Statement.